Egg-free baking

Okay so, in hindsight, I should have taken a better photo of this, but I didn’t plan to be sharing this on the blog.

Truth is, I’ve had a bit of a blackout recently, with regards to blog topics. Some stuff I think isn’t worth it, and others I have this big idea of how it’s going to be, how it should be, and then get all disappointed when it doesn’t turn out that way. I’m also struggling with time.

I currently work in a busy shopping mall, I leave the house and hour before each shift, and due to trains I get home an hour after my shift ends. I’m out of the house 55 hours a week, working irregular shifts.

I finally had some time to bake! Albeit without my better half, because I work most evenings and all weekend. We’re like ships passing in the night. It sucks.

Anyhoo, back to baking. I hate eggs. With a passion. Don’t get me wrong, I used to love them. Scrambled eggs… amazing!!!! But I started getting a bit weird about the squiggly bit in them, having to fish them out when I baked… and then I got a BIG squiggle. It was like a little prawn or something, and it turned my stomach. I didn’t struggle with Veganuary because I’ve been off eggs for so long! But it’s really shitty when it comes to baking… every recipe I try is terrible! 

It’s really getting me down. I’ve always been a really good baker. I’m not amazing, but I do make yummy treats, and I’m disappointing myself by turning out these flat, dense, stodgy cakes.

Can anyone help? I’m yet to try chickpea water.

In case you wanted to try this recipe (it tastes like Betty Crocker fudge icing!!) here it is!

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup cocoa
  • 1.5 cups icing sugar
  • 1/3 cup nondairy butter (I used sunflower)

I combined the milk and dry ingredients before adding the butter. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

